Grilled Shrimp, Jalapeno and Plum Skewers

June 10, 2012

As my friends know, I’m obsessed with grilling. Unfortunately, grills in New York City are a rarity. Unless you live in Queens, I guess. They have yards there. But I do not. And I hold grilling to a higher standard than cooking over cheap charcoal in a $20 Hibachi on the fire escape. Luckily, I have friends in suburbia who have the space for grills…and me.

I was recently in Sea Cliff, Long Island, at Wheat Free Sarah’s family house on the water. It was there that our friend Joe impressed the shit out of me. I never knew he could cook, let alone make something so absolutely unique, delicious and refreshing. Here’s how he did it:

  1. Marinate about a pound of peeled and de-veined shrimp in olive oil, fresh cilantro and a splash of Sprite (to add a subtle sweetness)
  2. Cut plum and jalapeno into grillable chunks
  3. After shrimp has marinated for at least an hour, arrange on skewer with plum and jalapeno
  4. Baste with olive oil, lime juice and cilantro and salt while on the grill
  5. Baste again before serving

This recipe screams summer. And though you may find it odd to pair plum, jalapeno and shrimp (as I admit, I did), this dish is a sweet and spicy surprise. Grill it now!

Leave a Reply

