Ragú for All

May 25, 2012

It’s been a while. So I apologize to all two people who read this blog. I’m back!

I hosted a casual dinner party at my apartment last night. On the menu was a pork and wild mushroom ragú served over gnocchi. The recipe, sent from the food gods at Bon Appétit, was time consuming, and I loved every minute of it. It’s a zen-like moment when you’re in the kitchen with criminis sautéing in garlic and oil, pork bits browning in the dutch oven, porcinis soaking in hot water and a towel thrown over your shoulder. Heaven.

Here’s my version of the BA recipe:

  • 1 ounce (more if you’d like) dried porcini mushrooms
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 8 ounces sliced crimini (baby bella) mushrooms
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt
  • 2 1/2 cups dry red wine (I used a mid-priced bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon), divided
  • 1 pound boneless pork ribs or chops, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (The pork in this recipe was bought from Fleisher’s in Park Slope. I asked for 2 pork chops, bone removed, no problem. I’m in love with this place, by the way.)
  • 6 ounces fresh mild Italian sausages, casings removed (About 2 links. Also purchsed from my main meat source, Fleisher’s.)
  • 1 medium Vidallia onion, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled, finely chopped
  • one 28-ounce can San Marzano or Muir Glen crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup (or more) low-salt chicken, beef or vegetable broth
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
  • potato gnocchi (Make your own or purchase)
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
Follow the preparation instructions.

I made the ragú the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight for the flavors to meld. I suggeset that for anyone attempting this recipe. On the evening of the dinner, I just put it on the stove and let it simmer for a couple of hours until the sauce thickened, while I drank wine with my guests, which included Wheat Free Sarah (I made rice pasta for her), Sarah S, Jo Laff and Roommate. They all had seconds of this very heavy meal, which means they either starved themselves for the ensuing porkageddon or they loved it. I’ll stick with the latter.

We paired it with this ridiculously good bottle of Coppola, thanks to WFS herself.

One Response to “Ragú for All”

  1. Kitty said

    Truly one of your best meals yet! I don’t usually eat pork, but the smell was irresistible! Now all I can say is that I wish I distributed the cheese more evenly over this fine porkageddon of a meal (there’s a lump in the picture, dangit!) I can’t wait to eat the leftovers! Good work!

    Oh yeah, the wine was alright too, Wheat Free Sarah.

Leave a Reply

