Braised Rabbit at Al Di La

October 25, 2011

Of course rabbits are cute, but did you know they’re also delicious?

For the three years I’ve lived in Park Slope, I have wanted to try the Italian treasures at Al Di La after hearing and reading rave reviews. Last night, epicurean dreams came true.

For starters, we ordered the a salad topped with grilled sardines in a light, citrus dressing. The fish were flaky, salty and moist — everything you’d expect from fresh sardines. The dressing was lemon based, but not pungent enough to take over the taste of the fish. The mini red and orange cherry tomatoes were tart and tasty — I wished there more on the plate.

For my my main dish, I opted for the braised rabbit served with black olives and silky polenta. Having never tried rabbit, I was completely unaware of what to expect. The meat was pearly white and unbelievably moist with a charred outside that added an earthy, smoky flavor. Rabbit is a clean and lean meat that, though naturally somewhat subtle in taste and texture, is unbelievably delicious when prepared correctly. Now, this could have something to do with the heavenly cloud of polenta on which the rabbit was resting, ensuring a bit of buttery goodness is consumed with each bite of the tender meat. This polenta was prepared to perfection, something you can’t always say about the sometimes-hard-to-master cornmeal dish. In all, the restaurant’s braised rabbit dish is a carnivore’s delight.

My dinner guest opted for the sliced hanger steak deglazed in balsamic vinegar. She loved the texture of the meat and the way the sauce complimented the protein. Even I loved this dish and I very rarely eat steak (long story…just ask Nick).

To add a little sweetness to this meatfest, we ordered a trio of sorbets: honey, cherry and blackberry. To my surprise, the honey sorbet was the best tasting of the lot, though all were amazing. We sipped on port while we slowly enjoyed the last of a very memorable meal. I will be back.

One Response to “Braised Rabbit at Al Di La”

  1. […] rabbit, chicken, habanero chili roasted tomato salsa, portabello mushroom and scallions. Ever since my rabbit experience at Al Di La, I’ve been fantasizing about the subtle but delicious white meat. This dish was interesting […]

Leave a Reply

