It’s Pie Time

October 5, 2011

As of a couple of weeks ago, I had never attempted to make a pie and I had never worked with rhubarb. I don’t bake; I cook.

So when my friends Dan and Jyoti needed a dessert for their party, obviously I told them I would bring a homemade strawberry rhubarb pie. Wait, what?

Turns out, pie production is not as intimidating as I thought. With a little research, a good market carrying fresh ingredients and the help of Pillsbury pie crust (I’m a beginner baker — come on!), I made a delicious dessert — at least that’s what was said. The first pie was such a success I made another for my friends at my favorite establishment, ye ol’ Black Horse.

The recipe and directions:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chopped rhubarb
  • 2 cups chopped strawberries
  • 1 1/3 cups white sugar
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9-inch double pie crust
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Combine sugar and flour. Sprinkle 1/4 of it over pastry in pie plate. Heap strawberry and rhubarb over this mixture. Sprinkle with remaining sugar and floud. Dot with small pieces of butter. Cover with top crust.
  3. Place pie on lowest rack in oven. Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 and continue baking for 40 to 45 minutes.
 
4 Responses to “It’s Pie Time”

  1. What made you choose rhubarb? I don’t believe I have ever tasted rhubarb. Not completely sure I know what rhubarb looks like. Pies look delicious though!

    • I was intrigued by rhubarb (I’m gonna go ahead and guess I’m the only one to think that). Having never worked with it, I wanted to give it a shot and use my friends as guinea pigs. Rhubarb resembles celery, though the stalks are much larger and reddish-pink in color. Maybe I’ll make another soon so you can taste!

  2. thinknick said

    mmmm.. Pie……
    they look awesome!

Leave a Reply

