Seared Salmon and Nonfat Noodles

August 1, 2011

I love pasta but it doesn’t love me back. A few years ago I made the switch from white pasta to the whole wheat or whole grain variety. And just recently I was introduced to an even better “pasta.”

Shirataki noodles are made of tofu and a fiber compound and contain very little (or sometimes zero) calories and carbs. And the best part is — they taste just like the real thing. That’s right, you can eat as much “pasta” as you like without the guilt.

With that in mind, I went on a Shirataki bender, coming up with delicious dishes using this pasta substitute. Here, I splurged on wild salmon (worth it) and marinated it with a fresh ginger and teriyaki marinade. For a side I used Shirataki (shocker!) noodles that I warmed in the same pan in which I cooked the salmon, letting the noodles take on the flavor of the marinade. I then tossed in sautéed broccoli, peppers and spinach. I drizzled leftover sauté sauce over both the salmon and pasta when finished.

This is one healthy palette pleaser.

Shirataki showdown vol. 1.

Leave a Reply

