Two Nights of Great Food in NYC

April 23, 2011

For the last of my many birthday celebrations, I was taken to Goat Town in the East Village. Having only been open a few months, I wasn’t sure what to expect but I had heard mostly positive reviews. Upon entering the small space, I was shocked by the beautiful “modern country” decor and the open kitchen with seafood selections displayed on ice.

For the first course, we shared a poached duck egg sprinkled with smoked paprika and served with baby arugula and prosciutto. The duck egg tastes similar to the traditional chicken egg but is larger and, to me, has a more hearty, buttery yolk. The egg was perfectly poached and the arugula added a nice, peppery taste while the prosciutto mingled in a bit of saltiness.

For the next course, we shared a dozen oysters from all over the shores of the United States. These oysters (all of them) were the some of the best I’ve ever tasted, behind only the Southampton oysters my friends and I catch each summer (you really can’t get any more fresh than that).

For the third course we shared a bowl of Maine bouchot mussels steamed in beer with bacon, parsley and mayonnaise. Goat town — I love you.

The night after the amazing Goat Town experience, I headed to Momofuku ssäm bar, also in the East Village. Our party of nine had a reservation for the bo ssäm (ssäm is korean for enclosed or wrapped), which includes a whole slow cooked pork shoulder, a dozen oysters, white rice, bibb lettuce, ssäm sauce (korean bbq sauce), kimchi and ginger scallion sauce. The dish is essentially pork and condiments wrapped in lettuce. It is, however, the best pork I’ve ever experienced and I think a few of the people with me that night feel the same.

Leave a Reply

